Appointment to Committees, Panels and Roles 2022/23

Committees & Panels

Planning Committee (2022/2023)

(16 **non-executive** members to be geographically representative) (Lab 14) (Cons 2)

Chair Millar

Vice-Chair Kaur

Akhtar

Allcock

Allen

Dhallu

Fenton

S Gill

A Hussain

O Jones

Mabena

Preece

N Singh

Webb

Chapman (C)

Williams (C)

Emergency Committee (2022/2023)

(7 members) (Lab 6) (Cons 1)

Chair Leader

Vice-Chair Deputy Leader

Cabinet Member for Adults
Cabinet Member for Children's
Cabinet Member for Environment
Safer Neighbourhoods Scrutiny Chair

Chapman (Trumpeter - Sub) (C)

Ethical Standards and Member Development Committee (2022/23)

(8 non-executive members)

(Lab 7) (Cons 1)

Chair Allcock

Vice-Chair G Gill

Crompton E M Giles

Jalil Lewis Rahman

W Gill (Dunn – Sub) (C)

(+ 3 independent persons as observers)

Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (2022/2023)

(7 members) + 3 independent members (Lab 6) (Cons 1)

Chair Preece

Vice Chair Mr Ager (Independent Member)

Choudhry L Giles Hinchliff Khatun Melia

Anandou (Trumpeter – Sub) (C)

(+2 independent members)

Chief Officer Terms and Conditions Committee (2022/2023)

(7 members) (Lab 6) (Cons 1)

Chair Leader

Vice-Chair Deputy Leader

Plus four members drawn from the following plus one opposition representative

Cabinet Members or chairs or vice-chairs of relevant boards/committees/panels.

Dunn (Wilkes – Sub) (C)

Chief Officers Terms and Conditions Appointments Sub-Committee

Leader (Chair), opposition member, plus one member selected by the Chair from Cabinet Members and Scrutiny Chairs to deal with appointments to and the determination of matters relating to posts designated as service manager tier 2.

Governance and Constitution Review Committee (2022/2023)

(8 members) (Lab 7) (Cons 1)	
Chair	Leader
	Akpoteni Hinchcliff McVittie Padda Piper Rollins
	W Gill (Abrahams – Sub) (C)

Scrutiny Boards (2022/2023)

Budget and Corporate Scrutiny Management Board

(6 members) (Lab 5) (Cons 1)

Chair Moore

Chair of Children's Services & Education

Chair of Economy, Skills, Transport & Environment

Chair of Health & Adult Social Care

Chair of Safer

Neighbourhoods & Active

Communities

Anandou

(Trumpeter – Sub) (C)

Children's Services and Education Scrutiny Board

(11 members + 4 co-opted members) (Lab 9) (Cons 2)

Chair Vice-Chair Shackleton Hinchliff

Akhtar Chambers Dhariwal Mayo McVittie Preece Uddin

W Gill (C) Dunn (C)

- 1 Church of England Diocese representative
- 1 Roman Catholic Archdiocese representative
- 2 Parent Governor representatives

Scrutiny Boards (continued) (2022/2023)

Economy, Skills, Transport and Environment Scrutiny Board

(11 members) (Lab 10) (Cons 1)

Chair Simms

Vice-Chair Taylor

Chambers Fenton Gavan J Giles Z Hussain Kaur

Owen Rahman

Abrahams (Wilkes – Sub) (C)

Health and Adult Social Care Scrutiny Board

(11 members) (Lab 10) (Cons 1)

Chair E M Giles

Vice-Chair Bhullar

Akpoteni Allcock Choudhry E A Giles S Gill Melia

Randhawa

Smith

Fisher

(Williams – Sub) (C)

Scrutiny Boards (continued) (2022/2023)

Safer Neighbourhoods and Active Communities Scrutiny Board

(11 members + 1 co-opted member) (Lab 10) (Cons 1)

Chair Fenton Vice-Chair Akhtar

Ashman Bhullar Jalil Kaur Lewis Mayo

Shaeen Webb

Fisher (Dunn – Sub) (C)

1 Co-opted member

Licensing Committee (2022/2023)

(15 non-Executive members)

(Lab 13) (Cons 2)

Chair Allen

Vice-Chairs Fenton

Gavan

Akpoteni Bostan M Gill J Giles A Hussain Z Hussain

Jalil Kausar Mayo N Singh

Wilkes (C) Dunn (C)

General Purposes and Arbitration Committee (2022/2023)

(7 **non-Executive** members)

(Lab 6) (Cons 1)

Chair Dhallu

Vice-Chair Costigan

Dhariwal S Jones Millar Simms

Trumpeter (Fisher – Sub) (C)

Select Committee for Policy Review (2022/2023)

(7 members) (Lab 6) (Cons 1)

Chair Bostan

Allcock Gavan L Giles G Gill Rahman

Williams (Fisher – Sub) (C)

Joint Consultative Panel (2022/2023)

(6 members) (Lab 6)

Chair Deputy Leader

J Giles Mabena Randhawa Taylor Jalal Uddin

Land and Asset Management Committee (2022/23)

(7 members)
(Lab 6) (Cons 1)

Chair Gavan

Ashman
Chambers
E M Giles
O Jones
K Singh

Trumpeter (Wilkes – Sub) (C)

Member Roles

Town Chair and Vice Chair Positions (2022/2023)

Oldbury Owen

(Deputy: Bhullar)

Rowley Regis Ashman

(Deputy: Mabena)

Smethwick Shaeen

(Deputy: S Gill)

Tipton Khatun

(Deputy: Allen)

Wednesbury L Giles

(Deputy: Chambers)

West Bromwich Melia

(Deputy: E A Giles) (Deputy: Akpoteni)

Cabinet Advisor (2022/23)

(Lab 6)

Clean and Green – Crompton
Wellbeing and Mental Health – S Jones
Crime and Community Safety – McVittie
Digital Inclusion and 5G – Smith
Young People and Skills – Costigan
Business Ambassadors and Community Wealth – Randhawa

Other Roles (2022/23)

(Lab)

Heritage Champion – Cabinet Member for Regeneration and Growth

Armed Forces Champion - S Melia